Ich gehe nach Deutschland und die Schweiz!


I’m stoked about going to Europe again soon.  Well, somewhat soon.  End of December.  lol  I have only been to the airport in Frankfurt when I was en route to Israel when I moved there at the beginning of 2008.  Yes, in case you are wondering, I’m visiting Germany.  It’s where my buddy lives.  Also, I’ll be in Switzerland for a bit.  I have been to Lugano, which was beautiful, and to the airports in Zurich and Geneva.  They don’t count.  haha  So I’m excited to see both countries more in-depth.

Now, being the traveler I am, I see this as an opportunity to visit other places, too, if I can fit that in without it being a pain in the ass.  In Germany, I’ll be on the western side, so I’d love to see if I could plot out a trip to Holland, namely, Amsterdam.  Also, Brussels, Belgium, would be cool.  Or even within Germany, to Hamburg or Munich or something.  These are just my mindless ideas bouncing around my brain pan.

I miss living in Europe massively, and I would love to figure out a way to move back.  I enjoyed my life there.  I have been learning to enjoy life period, not assign value and enjoyment to my location.  Oddly, that’s been tough.  New York City bores me, so it doesn’t help that I see Europe as so close, but so far away.

What I need to figure out is how to maximize my trip.  Most important is chilling with my bro, naturally.  But I would love to figure out some great trips or sights.  Does anyone have a suggestion?  I am calling on any of you who might read this and know of such opportunities to reach back to me with a heads-up.  PLEEAAASSEEE!

On the other hand, I look forward to taking my Eve with me (for those not in the know, Eve is my Mac) and sitting in a chair along a lake in the winter in Switzerland, and simply writing.  How inspiring!  Yes, cold, but INSPIRING!  For some reason, cold weather is highly inspirational to me.  Is that odd?  haha  And for sure, I will be taking whirlwinds of photos with my camera.  From what I have seen thus far, both countries have so much scenery to behold, and you all know how much of a sucker I am for landscapes.

I wish I knew my ancestors a bit more.  A small part of my lineage comes from the western region of Germany and the eastern region of France, not much, but a bit.  I would love to find out where, and maybe see those places.  I mean, any relatives who’d know are long since worm food, but still, it’d be neat to know and see!

So if anyone has a suggestion or warning or comment about this, please post it.  I would love to hear them all!

P.S. Tomorrow marks the end of my one month of financial tracking.  It should prove interesting to see where my money’s been going.  Stay tuned!

© Copyright 2009 Matt Lawrence

~ by Matt Lawrence on October 1, 2009.

4 Responses to “Ich gehe nach Deutschland und die Schweiz!”

  1. I heard that Amsterdam is great for walking around. My favorite painting is(was) in a museum in Köln. You must get to a Kathe Wohlfahrt store if you can and see the displays. http://tinyurl.com/y9o29e5 That’s all I got because most of my time was spent in The Black Forest.

    I, too, am interested to see what your expenses look like. From now you’ll be able to delegate your cash and plan more effectively. 🙂

  2. I would also definitely recommend Amsterdam. Really cool city. The Rijksmuseum is there and houses some of Rembrandt’s work. Really couldn’t say much about Germany, but if you get a chance to take a day cruise down the Rhine you should do it.

  3. Brughe is story book quaint 🙂

  4. Amsterdam is beautiful. I visited Van gogh museum which has the best collection of the Dutch artist work anywhere around the world. One the main highlights of my trip. The Rijks museum was closed for renovation this summer due to abestos. If you love beer and I have a feeling you do be sure to stop over at Heineken experience a museum dedicated to the 2nd most transported liquid across the atlantic after oil! who knew (take tram 16 or 24 to Heinekenplein or Stadhouderskade). I really wanted to visit Rembradthhis, the former home of Rembrandt and now a gallary of his work, but I just didn’t have enough time but I was told it well worth it. For shopping, Albertcuypstraat, is 5 min away from Heineken factory. you will find cheap local food mon to sat. Waterloopleinmarket flee market: big out door bizaar. Bloemenarket: the city’s flower market is colourful and in extreme, good for looking at flowers. ha! less I forget there is Kalverstraat and Nieuwendijk Pedestrian streets full of big name brands and lots of little shops too. Check out the English bookstore for travel guide and more. The smallest house in the world is also in Amsterdam and of course there is the sex museum….hehe… not your average sex museum I bet it beats the one in NYC. Ok enough about Amsterdam, so eve is your mac aye, here I was think it was some pretty thing with blue eyes, boy don’t make me smack you. Anyway you should take her with you I look forward to reading your post when you are in your perfect niche, Europe that is

Leave a Reply

 
